Top 10 photos from ‘A Time Warp: Mughal India’ series

If you’ve been following me on Instagram and/or Facebook, you’re probably aware that I recently visited Agra and took a whole bunch of photos. I took around 900 photos over 2 days. It was quite overwhelming for me when I came back and opened the gallery to choose photos to post on Instagram. Obviously posting 900 photos on Instagram was a stupid idea so I somehow got myself to choose a few. Even then I posted around 80 photos from this collection! I have to say, these photos were beneficial for my Instagram account. Since I started this series, I’ve gained over 150 followers and I’ve seen 2x increase in the average number of likes. This gives me faith that art wins over narcissism 😉

One of the things that I was concious of was not clicking the usual photographs. I had gone through a whole lot of pictures of these monuments on Instagram to get an idea of what kind of pictures are generally taken, and if there were any unusual sites/corners. When I judge my collection on this, I’m quite confident that I did a fair job on this. I think only 30% photos or less are typical shots. What do you think?

Now if you go by Instagram stats, the top 10 photos are different from my personal top 10. But then the ‘likes’ depend on a whole bunch of things, not just quality. So here are my favourite 10 photos (in random order) from the Time Warp: Mughal India series –

•A Time Warp• Let's explore Fatehpur Sikri through the next few photos. Fatehpur sikri is a walled city constructed from scratch by Emperor Akbar to be the capital of the Mughal Empire. As per the tour guide (I wasn't aware of this) the place on which it was constructed got the name 'Fatehpur' after Emperor Humayun won a battle there. So because he achieved 'fateh' (victory) over his opponents, this place was dubbed Fatehpur. #travel #travelindia #travelling #travelblogger #traveldiaries #travelogue #tourismindia #tourist #incredibleindia #india #india_clicks #indianhistory #indianhistoryandculture #history #storiesofindia #historicalplace #historicalsite #monument #unesco #heritage #heritageweek #trivia #victory #ihavethisthingwithdoors

A post shared by Sunayana Sen (@sunayanasen) on

•A Time Warp• . ~ "Would you want them to order is around?" "Of course not. But only one of them has a living child, and a daughter; where is the value in that ?" Jahanara smiled. THEY were girls also, but what Roshan meant was that they had living brothers who would inherit the throne, so their positions in the imperial zenana were assured. – Conversation between Jahanara and her sister Roshanara | 'Shadow Princess' by Indu Sundaresan ~ . #travel #travelgram #travelblogger #travelogue #wanderlust #instatravel #history #historicalplace #historicalsite #historyofindia #mughal #mughalarchitecture #india #indianhistory #tourindia #travelindia #incredibleindia #monument #agrafort #agra #uttarpradesh #architecture #palace #fort #jahanara #strongissexy #princess #royalty

A post shared by Sunayana Sen (@sunayanasen) on

 

 

Note 1- There are some pictures that I really like but it didn’t come out so well when I processed it through Instagram, and I don’t know how to scale and adjust photos in photoshop. So here are a few unedited favorites :

Note 2- For the purpose of this list I excluded portrait shots.

Would love to read your thoughts on this series and I’m open to free photography/photo-editing tips 😀

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Brilliant collection! Yeah photography is more fun if you manage to capture an image which is not captured by others! It is a perspective unshared by others

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sunayana Sen says:

      Thank you itsmayurremember! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thereelbee says:

    Beautiful photos! You have incredible talent. I like the idea of using Instagram inserts, super easy and probably more efficient for you. Plus it makes it even easier for your readers to follow you on social media. Keep posting, I’ll keep following! 🙂 cheers

    Like

    1. Sunayana Sen says:

      Thank you thereelbee! 🙂 Yeah it definitely is easier for me than uploading directly to WP.

      Like

  3. cynwillwrite says:

    What a beautiful place!

    Like

    1. Sunayana Sen says:

      It is! And it’s so much better when you experience it yourself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

