2016 Week #8 – Bad Planning

It’s the end of February and the year is gathering steam. Like literally. It’s too damn hot already! I’m forcing myself and conditioning my body to deal with it as best as I can now, so that I can deal with summer relatively easily. Although I don’t know how that’s going to be possible considering we’re already kissing 40 degrees Celsius here. Anyway, I’ll whine about this more in the coming posts. For now, here’s the update on my goals for the year.

Recap

Themes for 2016 —

Be Disciplined, Reduce Carbon Footprint, and Rise above my inferiority complex

Goals for February —

Be Disciplined  (Number of successful days/Total number of days)

  1. Reach (and leave) office on time everyday (2/20)
  2. End the month by drinking at least 2 litres of water for 7 days consecutive days – Worse than it was in January
  3. Two blog posts per week (6/8)
  4. Suryanamaskar every weekday (3/20)
  5. Water the plants everyday (20/28)

Reduce Carbon Footprint

  1. Walking to the parlor instead of driving – Visited the parlor only once and I walked to it
  2. Using handkerchiefs instead of tissues – So this one was a failure; I’ll get to the reason a bit later
  3. Taking bucket baths instead of showers (Excludes the days I have to wash my hair) – This was also a failure

Rise above my Inferiority Complex

  • Maintain a log of all the times I feel inferior and record my emotions around it. I think, first I’d like to know how often I feel like this and why. Then I would be in a better position to improve it. – Umm, did not do this, but I definitely had more control over my negative emotions

Before I set goals for March, it’s important to reflect on the reasons behind achieving some goals and not achieving some others. When I thought about each goal that I failed at I realized that I didn’t give it much thought when I was setting it. I didn’t think about the timing, season, resources, etc. It was simply bad planning. For example, the goal of bucket bath. I should’ve taken into account the weather. Considering the temperature that I can handle, most of February mornings were too cold for bucket bath (First world problems right here!) But the weather has changed now so I feel this is definitely an achievable goal for March. Another example is the goal of using handkerchief. I should’ve first seen if I had a stock of handkerchiefs. One day I just hurriedly went through my Mum’s drawer and found one, and I used it that day. But as an alternative, I tried to minimize the use of tissues at least (which is the objective.) For situations where I had access to a sink, I just washed my hands instead of using a tissue. But yes, I have stocked up for this so it should be a valid goal for March.

I think in general it was a haphazard month. There was so much going on and I just dropped the ball on planning and my goals. To be more effective March onwards, I have started Bullet Journalling. I resisted it for a while but I gave in last week and it’s been so exciting! It’s sort of like heaven for serial planners! It’s working pretty well for me; keeping me disciplined and accountable to myself. I hope that this will be the key to achieving my monthly goals.


Goals for March

Some of the goals for February that I didn’t succeed in have been carried forward to March, and some of them have been dropped.

Be Disciplined

  1. End the month by drinking at least 2 litres of water for 7 days consecutive days
  2. Suryanamaskar every weekday
  3. Not taking my phone into the bathroom
  4. Read 10 pages of a book everyday

Reduce Carbon Footprint

  1. Using handkerchiefs instead of tissues
  2. Taking bucket baths instead of showers (Excludes the days I have to wash my hair)
  3. Driving in the car alone no more than thrice – Funda is to club multiple errands/trips together and carpool instead of using up so much fuel just for one trip or one person.

Rise above my Inferiority Complex

  • Maintain a log of all the times I feel inferior and record my emotions around it.

 

I’m looking forward to March! I like the goals and I think I’m better prepared for these than I was last month. Hoping that next month’s update will talk about successes! Let me know if I’m going in the wrong direction or if there’s a better way of living the themes. I’m open to suggestions and comments. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

