What’s in a name? Only your identity.

If you’re as judgemental as I am, you’d have already mentally ripped apart Usernames that people choose for their social media avatar. You know, the usernames you see and go “ugh, so creative. NOT.” I don’t know about you but even though usernames that are just your actual name, even though not creative, don’t make me think this way. I think that using your name is about creating a personal brand for yourself. So if that’s the objective, actual name is the obvious and SEO-friendly way to go.

But if you’re not trying to that but instead trying to create a pseudonym or just trying to be creative, why do you chose a run-of-the-mill name? I know we were taught Shakespeare’s famous line, What’s In A Name, but in the 21st century, a lot is in a name. It’s your identity. It’s the name through which everybody recognizes your work. So please can you come up with something more creative?

‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy;
Thou art thyself, though not a Montague.
What’s Montague? it is nor hand, nor foot,
Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part
Belonging to a man. O, be some other name!
What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet;
So Romeo would, were he not Romeo call’d,
Retain that dear perfection which he owes
Without that title. Romeo, doff thy name,
And for that name which is no part of thee
Take all myself.

– Juliet, Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

Here are some of the usernames in its different variations that I see across Instagram and Twitter that make me and my friends go “my actual name is so much more creative than your username” –

  • random…xyz
  • thegirl…xyz
  • theguy…xyz
  • princess…xyz
  • dude…xyz
  • notyourusual…xyz (Please tell me you get the irony of this)
  •  miss…xyz
  • mr…xyz

 

BUT, the best one I’ve seen so far, and I am not making this up, is this username – “Mindblowingly Stupid Girl” !!! YUP. Oh well, all said and done, I applaud your genuine attempt at being quirky. Which is definitely more impressive than sticking to your name (more so if you share your name with many others.) Do you have any such usernames that makes you go ugh?

 

Leave a Reply

